Checkpics.com
August 18th, 2008 | Published in Overeenkomsten
Zojuist werd ik op MSN Messenger aangesproken:
“Lisa zegt:
http://mijn-msn-adres.checkpics.com”
Een vriendin die me een link stuurt die leidt naar een subdomein van checkpics.com. Op deze website dien ik mijn MSN Messenger inloggegevens in te voeren om toegang te krijgen tot leuke plaatjes, althans dat doet de website vermoeden. Dat ruikt naar phishing.
Helaas is mijn vriendin er in getrapt. Haar MSN account wordt nu tijdelijk onbruikbaar gemaakt opdat TST Management Inc. haar vrienden, waaronder ik, namens haar (1) kan inlichten over hun geweldige website en (2) kan inlichten over andere vermakelijke websites. Hoe kom ik aan deze informatie? De algemene voorwaarden en de privacyverklaring bij de phishing-website vermelden keurig wat de beheerders van plan zijn met de ontfutselde gegevens:
“By filling out this form, you authorize TST Management, Inc to spread the word about this 100% real and upcomming Messenger Community Site. You will receive your share of the credit in helping us spread the word. This is a harmless Community site which is offering users a platform to meet each other for free.
We do not share your private information with any third parties. By using our service/website you hereby fully authorize TST Management, Inc to send messages of a commercial nature via Instant Messages and E-Mails on behalf of third parties via the information you provide us. This is not a “phishing” site that attempts to “trick” you into revealing personal information. Everything we do with your information is disclosed here. If you are under eighteen (18), you MUST obtain permission from a parent or guardian before using our website/service.
This page is not affiliated with or operated by Microsoft(tm) or MSN Network(tm).
ANY LIABILITY, INCLUDING WITHOUT LIMITATION ANY LIABILITY FOR DAMAGES CAUSED OR ALLEGEDLY CAUSED BY ANY FAILURE OF PERFORMANCE, ERROR, OMISSION, INTERRUPTION, DEFECT, DELAY IN OPERATION OR TRANSMISSION, COMMUNICATIONS LINE FAILURE, SHALL BE STRICTLY LIMITED TO THE AMOUNT PAID BY OR ON BEHALF OF THE SUBSCRIBER TO THIS SERVICE.
[...]
You understand that this agreement shall prevail if there is any conflict between this agreement and the terms of use you accepted when you signed up with MSN. You also understand that by temporarily accessing your msn account, TST Management, Inc is NOT agreeing to MSN’s terms of use and therefore not bound by them.” (“Terms of Use / Privacy Policy” bij checkpics.com)
Onredelijk bezwarende voorwaarden? Kom daar maar eens mee aanzetten in Panama:
This agreement shall be construed and governed by the law of the
republic of Panama. You expressly consent to the exclusive venue
and personal jurisdiction of the courts located in the Republic of
panama for any actions arising from or relating to this agreement.” (“Terms of Use / Privacy Policy” bij checkpics.com)


December 21st, 2008 at 10:25 pm (#)
Het is erger dan dat. Een vriendin van mij kreeg een identieke mail, gestuurd onder mijn naam, terwijl ik al maanden mijn msn niet heb gebruikt.